Review: My Lady Quicksilver by Bec McMaster

My Lady Quicksilver
London Steampunk #3
by: Bec McMaster
ISBN#9781402270338
$7.99 mass market paperback
Sourcebooks Casablanca
Historical Romance / Steampunk / Vampires
Released: October 2013




Leading the resistance against the Echelon isn’t easy, and doesn’t leave much time for family.  When Rosalind’s younger brother goes missing during a failed bombing, she’s frantic to find him, refusing to believe him dead.  The quickest way to do that is to hunt down Sir Jasper Lynch, the leader of the infamous Nighthawks.  Not only is he brilliant at tracking people down, but he’s the first man to make her pulse flutter madly since her husband died.  Only problem?  He’s one of them, one of the blue bloods she despises.  Still, beggars can’t be choosers.  She poses as his secretary, determined to find her brother’s whereabouts then get out before she’s discovered.  But getting to know the man behind the myth makes her begin to doubt her hatred, and in knowing him learns that not all blue bloods are created equal.  Now the ideals she’s clung desperately to all these years are being called into question.  It doesn’t help that every heated glance, every brush against her glove makes her long for things she can never have.  And it’s not all one sided, either.  Now she will learn the full extent of a Nighthawk’s determination in hunting down their prey, and she’ll learn just how far he’s willing to go to claim her as his own.

This a continuation of the world where the Echelon (aristocratic vampires) rule with an iron fist, and the rest of humanity who try not to attract attention to themselves.  This can be read as a stand alone novel.  I love the world Bec McMaster’s created, full of danger, passion, mystery, and automatons.  Lynch is a delicious enigma, and we’re teased by him throughout the book as he makes himself known to us.  Rosalind is doing the best she can, trying to carry on her dead husband’s legacy.  In the end, she’s just trying to keep what’s left of her family together, and is willing to go to any lengths to make that happen.  The two collide in a whirlwind in a passion so bright it lights up the pages.  This is one of my favorite steampunk series, and I’m anxiously awaiting the (hopefully) next installment of the series.

Carla gives this book a





Posted in Historical Romance Review, steampunk, Vampire | Leave a comment

Review: Unexpectedly You by Lily Santana

Unexpectedly You
by: Lily Santana
ISBN#9781426896019
$2.99 eBook
Carina Press
Contemporary Romance
Released: August 2013




From the moment Mitch came to town trying to build his condos, Emma’s made it her life’s goal to see him fail.  She’s spent the past six months ripping his reputation to shreds, and getting everyone in town to alienate him.  A widow at 30, she likes things just the way they are, and intends to keep them that way, even if it means constantly irritating her oh so studly temporary neighbor. 

Struggling to get her small business started, Emma’s devastated to learn how badly her husband had mangled their finances.  Now, if she can’t get her hands on a large sum of money and fast, her and her teenage daughter will lose the home that’s been in her family for years.  Swallowing her pride, she turns to the one person who’s willing to help her, but at what cost?

Emma has been a nagging thorn in his side since Mitch started his project.  Now with her latest stalling tactic, he may have to lay off his entire crew until the city approves the project.  Seething, he confronts her, both despising the woman’s tenaciousness but loving their confrontations.  When she comes to him begging for help, he knows he’s finally found a way out of his slump.  He tells her he’ll give her the money she needs, but only if she can get everyone in town to vote on his project, and make it seem like it was her idea in the first place.  To do that, he tells her they have to spend the entire week together, since that’s what new friends do.  The fire burning in her eyes at the prospect makes him wonder what the frumpy clothing and bad attitude are really hiding.  It should be fun to find out.

I’m always on the lookout for stories about two people that love to bicker with each other, yet are drawn to each other despite the animosity.  This story delivers all that and more.  Emma and Mitch start off hating each other’s guts, but slowly begin to learn the reasons for that misplaced hate.  Once they come to an accord over the loan, the time spent together starts to bring down walls that have long been in place for both of them, and the healing can begin.  There were times I wouldn’t have been surprised to see them try to strangle each other, but the aggravation gave it that sense of realism and depth to the characters. 

Carla gives this book a



 

Posted in Contemporary Romance Review | Leave a comment

Review: Agamemnon Frost and the House of Death by Kim Knox

Agamemnon Frost and the House of Death
Agamemnon Frost #1by: Kim Knox
ISBN#9781426895999
$1.99 eBook
Carina Press
Sci-Fi Romance / Steampunk / GLBT / Aliens
Released: August 19, 2013





 
Forcibly retired from the military when his position was filled by machine soldiers, Edgar now works as a personal servant to the wealthy elite.  His one requirement is he not be paired with someone more interested in themselves than the world around them.  When he’s hired for one night as the valet for the dashing Agamemnon Frost, he quickly realizes Frost is exactly the sort of man he detests, yet can’t help the quickening of his heart when Frost looks his way.  Relationships between two men are severely punished if discovered, so Edgar tries to keep his attraction to himself.  But Frost quickly sees through the charade, and the sparks fly.

But there’s an evil plot afoot, and Frost is right in the middle of it.  Turns out their party hosts are not what they seem, and soon the two find themselves chained in the basement, about to be tortured by an alien race bent on taking over the Empire by turning its citizens into mechanical slaves.  Although Edgar is no stranger to pain, he holds on to Frost’s face to keep himself from succumbing to the mind-numbing horror that awaits him in the dungeons of their enemies.

This is the first book I’ve read that has aliens and steampunk mixed together.  Basically, Martians have come to take over England, and are turning people into part human, part machine slaves to make it happen.  Unfortunately for Edgar, he gets dragged into the middle of the silent war going on, and has to make some quick choices on who to trust, because he can never go back to his old life again.  This book was more about plot and action than romance, although the interaction between Frost and Edgar plays a big part on how the plot plays through.  One of the things I like about Kim Knox is her willingness to go where no author has gone before. 

Carla gives this book a

 

Posted in GLBT, Sci-Fi Romance Review, steampunk | Leave a comment

Review: Forgiven by Leanna Ellis

Forgiven
Plain Fear #3  
by: Leanna Ellis
ISBN#9781402279799
$14.99 trade paperback
Sourcebooks Landmark
Paranormal Romance
Published: August 2013





Samuel Fisher is confused and guilt-ridden over his brother Jacob’s death. With nowhere else to turn he seeks solace and answers at his brother Levi’s house in Pennslyvania. There he is lured away to New York by a former lover hoping to learn more about Jacob. But someone else has plans for Samuel – a vampire named Giovanni, betrayed by Jacob. Now she wants revenge and will stop at nothing to get it.

Once again danger is headed towards Promise, Pennsylvania, this time in a final battle between good and evil for both Samuel’s life and his soul. The decisions he makes will determine not only which side will triumph, but who will be forgiven.


Let me begin by saying there are three books in this series and this is the last one but the first I have read.  It can stand alone, but I think reading them in order would give the reader a deeper understanding and be more informative to how things have come down to Samuel returning to Promise, Pennsylvania, and the final battle between good and evil for both Samuel’s life and his soul. The decisions he makes will determine not only which side will win the battle but also who will be forgiven. The concept of the Amish and vampires intrigued me enough I chose to read this book, as I love the supernatural/vampires, and also the Amish way of life interests me.

The story starts with the pain and anguish of the main character Samuel, who is the youngest of three brothers. Family issues is an understatement, dysfunctional would be more fitting. The women in his life, both present and past, the lies that surround the death of his middle brother abound and he sets out to learn the truth and seeks absolution or forgiveness for having killed said brother.  If you are confused so was I, the story line is somehow not finished and the feelings are not translated well, but again perhaps this is because I did not read the previous two books in the series. The emotions of the characters are told to you but I never felt them.  The vampires in this story are not romantic but evil creatures, who can sometimes be saved by exorcism of the demon/vampire.  Confusing how they can be evil creatures yet brought back to their human selves. You will have to read the authors interpretations on this  to understand somewhat how that is possible.

Different religious views are brought to light and even though I am not Amish, their way of life is talked about somewhat distantly. The story tends to take side roads quite often in secondary characters and even further, so that you are left asking why was that even part of the story, why was that important?  People, their backgrounds and random thoughts are used to introduce them. The first half of the book is confusing and ever winding through, forwards and backwards in an effort to catch you up, explain why this or that is happening or has happened.

I did not know if I could finish this book but because if I pick up a book I will finish it, hoping for better if I am not happy with the beginning or middle that somehow in the end we will see what the author was trying to show us throughout the winding pages.  I feel there were excellent characters to work with. The concept of intertwining the Amish with vampires is unique and can be further developed.  I did like the poetry mixed in with the story as I love this concept.

Chris gives this book a






Posted in Paranormal Romance Review | Leave a comment

Review: Surrender to Sultry by Macy Beckett

Surrender to Sultry
Sultry Springs #3
by: Macy Beckett
ISBN#9781402270420
$6.99 mass market paperback
Sourcebooks Casablanca
Contemporary Romance
Released: August 2013




Ten years ago, Leah disappeared right before prom, and nobody’s heard from her since.  For Colton, she’s always been the one that got away.  He’s spent years looking for her without luck.  So imagine his surprise when he finds out she’s back in town to help her dad recover from surgery.  Even though she claims God called her home, he can smell a lie a mile away, and is determined to find out where she’s been all these years.  After a crazy one night stand tried to kill him, he’s straightened up, and takes his job as Sheriff seriously.  Now he wants to show her he still has feelings for her, and is ready to be the man she needs.

But Leah’s had good reason to stay away for so long.  She’s spent the last ten years thinking of Colton, but doesn’t see how they can have any future together with the weight of her secret hanging over their heads.  And once her secret’s out, she’s pretty sure any feelings he has for her are going to go up in smoke. 



In the last book, Colton’s a wild card, drinking and sleeping with anything that moves.  But when a crazy woman ran him over with her car, you could see the difference in his thinking.  This book is his story, and focuses on a couple years after the accident.  (hint hint, read the previous book first)  Even though Colton and Leah were teenagers the last time they were together, they formed a bond that lasted through a ten year absence.  To me, that’s a pretty powerful sign they’re meant to be together.  But Leah’s hiding something huge, and her desire to keep Colton from finding out plays a big part in how she interacts with him.  But he’s nothing if not determined.  This was a great love story about getting second chances when you never thought you would, and doing whatever it takes to keep those you love close. 

Carla gives this book a




Posted in Contemporary Romance Review | Leave a comment

Promo and Contest with author Grace Burrowes

THE GRACE BURROWES SCOTTISH VICTORIAN PRINT BOOK GIVEAWAY!

Follow along as we giveaway SIGNED copies of the two books in Grace Burrowes’ emotional and sensual Scottish Victorian-set MacGregor romance series: The Bridegroom Wore Plaid and Once Upon a Tartan!

ONCE UPON A TARTAN BY GRACE BURROWES – IN STORES AUGUST 2013
Honor or happiness—he can’t have both.

Tiberius Flynn may be every inch an English lord, but smart, headstrong beauty Hester Daniels has no use for his high-handed ways–no matter how handsome, charming, or beguiling he is. They only see eye to eye in caring about the feisty little girl who is under their protection.

Tiberius’s haughty insistence that his wealthy estate in England is a better place for the child than her beloved, rundown Scotland home sparks Hester’s fierce protectiveness, and the battle lines are drawn.

Praise for Once Upon a Tartan:
“Burrowes creates a powerful story replete with heartfelt emotion and rich characterization… An instant keeper.” —RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ stars, Top Pick of the Month
“Expert prose, likeable characters, realistic relationships, and believable complications create a pleasant and satisfying keeper.” —Publishers Weekly
“Warmth, sensuality, and humor infuse Burrowes’ writing, and fans of Suzanne Enoch and Sarah MacLean should enjoy this series.” —Booklist
“Grace Burrowes weaves her magic with words… a memorable love story—excellent and exquisite.” — A Long and Short Reviews Best Book

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Grace Burrowes is the author of the acclaimed Windham Family Series, The MacGregor Trilogy and The Lonely Lords Series. Her debut novel, The Heir (2010), as well as The Bridegroom Wore Plaid (2012) were both included as Publishers Weekly Best Books of their respective years, in the romance category. A practicing attorney specializing in family law, Grace lives in rural Maryland, where she is working on the final book in the Windham series, Lady Jenny’s Christmas Portrait (October 2013) and third MacGregor story, The MacGregor’s Lady (February 2014), and many more books. Visit her website afor more information about all of her books, exclusive extras and her lively blog.

Giveaway Schedule—chances to win all month long!
8/1 Book Hounds<http://maryinhb.blogspot.com/>
8/2 RomFan Reviews<http://www.romfanreviews.com/>
weekend
8/5 In the Hammock<http://inthehammockblog.blogspot.com/

>
8/6 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell<http://books-forlife.blogspot.com/>
8/7 Manga Maniac Café<http://www.mangamaniaccafe.com/>
8/8 What’s on the Bookshelf<http://whatsonthebookshelf-jen.blogspot.com/>
8/9 The Royal Reviews<http://theroyalreviews.blogspot.com/>
weekend
8/12 Joan Swan’s Blog<http://joanswan.com/blog/
>
8/13 Cocktails and Books<http://www.cocktailsandbooks.com/>
8/14 Romancing the Book<http://romancing-the-book.com/>
8/15 Ramblings from this Chick<http://ramblingsfromthischick.blogspot.com/>
8/16 Books-n-Kisses<http://www.books-n-kisses.com/>
weekend
8/19 Anna’s Book Blog<http://annavivian.blogspot.com/>
8/20 The Book Girl<http://www.thebookgirl.net/>
8/21 The Reading Café<http://thereadingcafe.com/>
8/22 Seductive Musings<seductivemusings.blogspot.com>
8/23 Peeking Between the Pages<http://www.peekingbetweenthepages.com/>
weekend
8/26 Love Romance Passion<http://www.loveromancepassion.com/>
8/27 So Many Precious Books, So Little Time<http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/>
8/28 Thoughts in Progress<http://masoncanyon.blogspot.com/>
8/29 Debbie’s Book Bag<http://debsbookbag.blogspot.com/>
8/30 Linus’ Blanket<http://www.linussblanket.com/>

 Contest Information:
Leave a comment along with your email address for your chance to win not one but two of Grace Burrowes’ books The Bridegroom Wore Plaid and Once Upon a Tartan!  Contest is open to US and Canada residents only.  A winner will be drawn on August 7th. 


 
From her Lonely Lords series:


From 2013:

Posted in Blog Tour, Contests | Leave a comment

Interview and Giveaway with author Regina Carlysle


We would like to welcome back to RomFan Reviews my friend Regina Carlysle.  Welcome sweetie and Happy Release Day!!

Tell us a little about your new release Mad Moon.
I’d be happy to do that! I’m thrilled to see the release of the 6th High Plains Shifters book. This one is different in that it is novel length (rather than Novella) and takes place in a new town dominated by sexy Texas shifters. Though it is tightly connected to the first five HPS stories, I’ve taken the series in yet another direction. This book tells the story of Madden Moon, leader of the Texas Rogues of East Texas and his adventures after saving runaway wolf, Lana Vronski from her despicable father and sadistic fiancé. When Madden realizes Lana is his mate, he stops at nothing to keep her safe from those who hunt her. Eventually, he calls in the wolves of the Wolf Creek Pack of West Texas to help him bring Lana’s hunters to justice.

This is the sixth book in the series will there be more?
Absolutely, there will be more. This is my favorite series to write and I just can’t stop now. In Mad Moon, I re-introduce the mystical Sam Rainwater along with other characters who are just screaming for their own stories.

What is the hardest part when writing?
Awwww, well laziness is my biggest enemy. Shiny things distract me but once I put blinders on and focus, I can crank out the work. The internet is a necessity but is definitely my enemy too. A double-edged sword.

I know every author says they don’t have a favorite character but I bet they do, so who is yours?
I have fallen half in love with each of my heroes so it seems strange to say that my favorite character is female. Lola Lamont from Trouble in a Stetson is my absolute favorite. She is proof positive that looks can be deceiving. Constantly misjudged, Lola hides a beautiful, kind heart despite her glitzy, showy exterior. Judging others on the basis of their appearance isn’t very smart, is it? Trouble in a Stetson was my contribution to the Sequins, Saddles and Spurs series (Ellora’s Cave) along with Trouble in Cowboy Boots (Desiree Holt) and Trouble in Chaps (Ciana Stone).

Are any of your characters based on real people or events?

Yes, without a doubt. In at least two of my older books, I have had an elderly character named Minnie. This is my grandmother (who was much loved and has been gone for many years). I have also taken bits and pieces of people I’ve known and blended them into characters. Some were villainous characters, I must admit. Return to Ransom (book three in my Delight, Texas series) was just contracted and I used a real event in this story. This particular incident happened in ‘real life’ to someone I knew years ago and I knew that it happened to Lynn (my heroine in the story).

How would your friends describe you?
I’m not really sure about that but I believe if a poll were taken (LOL) they would describe me as friendly and outgoing (I never meet a stranger). They would no doubt say that I smile often and that I’m overly emotional, overly sensitive and a little naïve. They would also say that I am a girly-girl through and through.

What’s something fans would find fascinating about you?
 Hmm. I’m not sure anything about me is particularly fascinating. JI have a fairly heavy southern accent, I’m a small-town girl, and I was once a champion ‘chicken judger’.

Describe to us you typical day, after you make your pot of coffee J
Easy. I check emails, do some promo, check facebook and read my horoscope.  It’s my own little ritual.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? 
Though I can’t sing a lick, I wanted to be a singer. Either that or a missionary (have NO idea where that came from)

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever done in the name of research?
Watched porn. snort

Please share any links you would like listed in the Interview. Website, blog, facebook, etc.

My author page:


Okay are you game for a little fun?  Let’s play 20 questions

1.       Coffee or Tea?   coffee
2.       Coke or Pepsi?   Pepsi (diet Pepsi to be exact)
3.       Wolf Shifter or Cat Shifter?   Wolf (but cats are good too)
4.       Beer or wine?   Wine (red)
5.       Muffins or Cupcakes?   Cupcakes (with pretty icing)
6.       Computer or Television?   Computer
7.       Camping or Hotel?   Hotel (hopefully luxury)
8.       My favorite pizza is…   anything with alfredo sauce
9.       My favorite book genre is…   paranormal
10.   My superpower of choice would be…  the ability to transport
11.   On a rainy day, you’ll find me…   napping (I know…my bad)
12.   When I get free time, I’ll…   go out for lunch
13.   If you had a million dollars…   I would buy my dream home
14.   My dream vacation would be…   Italy
15.   If you could be a character in any novel you’ve ever read, who would you be and why?   Bella from Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, JR Ward) simply because I love Zsadist.
16.   How many books do you read each year?   50 or more
17.   If you could pick a book to turn into a movie, which one would it be?  Lone Star Lycan or my upcoming Immortal Challenge
18.   If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?  A villa in Tuscany
19.   Which store would you choose to max out your credit card?  Restoration Hardware
20.   What are you reading right now?  Nothing at the moment because I never read when I’m writing.

Mad Moon Blurb:
Madden Moon knows what she is the second she walks into the old café. Shifter. Wolf. Trouble.  Struck by her beauty and the air of exhaustion about her, the leader of the Texas Rogues, wishes her straight out of town but as the mating energy of their species sizzles between them and her enemies approach, he has no alternative but to bring the beautiful lycan under his protection and into his bed.
Runaway Lana Vronski is in big trouble. As she races through the woods, local wolves in hot pursuit, she believes all is lost until she is rescued by oh-so-sexy Madden. When he offers her sanctuary and sex hot enough to burn them both, she accepts his proposal but it isn’t until the mating heat between them begins to sizzle wildly out of control that Lana learns her true salvation awaits in his arms. Lana’s enemies are relentless, however, and will stop at nothing as they attempt to rip her from the arms of the man she loves.

About the Author:
I grew up in small town Oklahoma then moved to Texas  where I lived for over thirty years.  Once upon a time I worked as a newspaper journalist, as a public relations director for a university,  and other assorted things but these days I am an award winning, multi-published author.

I like writing that is hot, edgy, and often humorous, and try to put this trademark stamp on all of my stories. These days I live in sunny Florida where I find the temps ‘heat up’ my creative urges.  I am a doting, fawning, and over-indulgent mom to my two adult children and believe them to be the coolest people in the world.

When I’m not penning steamy erotic tales set in  paranormal worlds or writing hot contemporary books (usually featuring a cowboy or two) I  indulge in long chats with friends who help me stay sane and keep me laughing. Wanna be my friend forever? Make me laugh.

Giveaway:
Regina is giving away one lucky person a copy of one of her books from her backlist.  Just leave a comment with your email address to be entered.  Winner will be drawn August 7th

Posted in Author Interview, Contests | Leave a comment